Working Lands Enterprise Board Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, April 18, 2023 at 1:00 PM Microsoft Teams

Voting Board Members Present: Alyson Eastman (Deputy Secretary, Agency of Agriculture – designee for Anson Tebbetts, Secretary), Chair; Charlie Hancock, Vice Chair (departs 5:04 PM); Tayt Brooks (Agency of Commerce – designee for Lindsay Kurrle, Secretary); Paul Frederick (designee for Danielle Fitzko, Interim Commissioner, Department of Forests, Parks, and Recreation); Bob Lesnikoski; Alison Low; Will Belongia; Donna Young

Voting Board Members not Present: Marisa Mauro, Tyler Miller, David Hubbard, Alisha Utter, Megan Camp

Non-Voting Board Members Present: Gus Seelig, Executive Director, Vermont Housing and Conservation Board (arrives 1:10 PM)

Non-Voting Board Members not Present: Sarah Isham, Vermont Economic Development Authority, designee for Cassandra Polhemus, CEO; Ellen Kahler, Executive Director, Vermont Sustainable Jobs Fund Staff: Elizabeth Sipple, Clare Salerno, Diana Ferguson, Kristina Sweet, Abbey Willard, Laura Ginsburg (Agency of Agriculture, Food, and Markets), Katharine Servidio (Department of Forests, Parks, and Recreation); Randall Szott (Agency of Commerce and Community Development)

Guests: None

Members of the Public: None

Deputy Alyson Eastman calls the meeting to order at 1:05 PM.

MOTION to approve minutes from the February 21, 2023 Board meeting – Charlie Hancock motions, Alison Low seconds

MOTION passes by unanimous voice vote

Program Updates – Elizabeth Sipple

Elizabeth shares tentative plans for the annual Board Symposium and 10-year program celebration, both slated to occur in Summer 2023. She provides updates on Board committees and the launch of the SharePoint site that houses shared Board documents.

ARPA Primary Producer Impact Grant Decisions – Elizabeth Sipple, Kristina Sweet, Alyson Eastman

- Maximum of \$1,150,000 to award
- Suggestion to cap today's awards at \$1,100,000, excluding extra \$50,000 of prior year funds
- Elizabeth and Kristina present an overview of top six applications

DISCUSSION

MOTION to advance top eight applications reviewed to a "Yes" – Chuda Dhaurali, Riverview Farm, Giddings Hill Forest Products, Redstart Inc., Mud City Farm, Sunrise Orchards, Stonewood Farm, Boyden Farm) – Charlie Hancock motions, Alison Low seconds

MOTION passes by unanimous voice vote

DISCUSSION of applications voted "Maybe" by reviewers

MOTION to advance Bissonnette Firewood to a "Yes" – Charlie Hancock motions, Paul Frederick seconds (Bob Lesnikoski is a third)

MOTION passes by unanimous voice vote

MOTION to move the remaining applications to a "No" – Champlain Valley Hops, 1000 Stone Farm, Richville Farms, Maple Sugar Mountain, Ananda Gardens, Currier Farms Forest Products, Grateful Morning Dairy, Sunnyside Dairy, Deep Meadow Farm – Charlie Hancock motions, Alison Low seconds **MOTION** passes by unanimous voice vote

Administration Updates

- Paul Frederick Forests, Parks, and Recreation
 - o Announces appointment of Danielle Fitzko as Commissioner of FPR
- Tayt Brooks Commerce and Community Development
- Alyson Eastman Agriculture, Food & Markets

Other Announcements - none

Public Comment - none

MOTION to adjourn – Donna Young motions, Charlie Hancock seconds **MOTION** passes by unanimous voice vote

Meeting is adjourned by Alyson Eastman at 3:00 PM.

Meeting Materials

- Working Lands Enterprise Board Meeting Minutes Draft 2/21/2023
- Working Lands Enterprise Board Meeting Agenda 4/18/2023
- ARPA Primary Production Impact Grant Reviews
- ARPA Primary Production Impact Grant Pitch Meeting Notes
- ARPA project review from Lawrence Miller